January 9th will be the Florida Democratic Party State Organizational Meeting, where the Officers and DNC representatives will be elected. Candidates for Chair in alphabetical order are:

Nikki Barnes – Current DNC Member

Dr. Cynthia Chestnut – Chair, Alachua County DEC

Mayor Manny Diaz – Former Mayor of Miami

Wes Hodge – Chair, Orange County DEC

Ione Townsend – Chair, Hillsborough County DEC

Mike is endorsing Ione Townsend for Chair, Kari is not. Please know that your State Committeepersons will vote for the candidate they believe has the highest qualifications & who will best serve the interests of the Lee County DEC.

The ballot has not yet been distributed to us, so we will not list the candidates for 1st Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer and DNC Members at this time. However, it should be noted that both Dr. Janelle Christensen, Chair of the Florida Environmental Caucus and Sandra McClinton, Chair of Chairs for the Democratic Women’s Clubs of Florida are local Democrats running for DNC.

Next week we will be posting the full results of the election.

—Kari Lerner and Mike Bonacolta

%d bloggers like this: